Internet fame is both hard to measure and fleeting. All you need to do is look at Excite.com, AltaVista or Friendster to realize that what’s hot today can quickly fade. Shortly after starting this site I started to get mentions in a few major media outlets. Wow, I thought, my 15 minutes of fame is here! Then I started to get domain typo squatters, a hallmark of any truly successful website right? Now I’ve really made it big!
Well, today I learned that I’ve joined the ranks of internet giants. That’s right, there is now what appears to be an Eric’s Credit Community themed Phishing SPAM making its way around the internet.
Here’s a snippet, forwarded to me from one of the hapless recipients:
Ref: XX-XXX/XXXXXX/XX/XX-XXX
SSL: XX/XX/XXXX
The Data Protecting Act Reg No. (Z720923X).
Phone: (+234)-807-656-5528 (+234)-705-635-7973
Fax: (+1)-206-600-3069Dear Customer, (XXXXX X. XXXXXX)
Thanks for your incentive response to my advert.By way of a proper introduction, I am Mrs.Helen Eric the Sr. Director and CEO Eric’s Credit Community. Presently I own 45% of the shares in CGP(Capita Group PLC, London) a government approved Financial Institute. We are currently setting up a scheme in form of Loan acquisition to help various individuals as well as organizations who have intentions of renovating, debt consolidation, re-financing and also establishment of business outfits.I usually give out my Loans at a very affordable interest rate of 4.5% with a negotiable duration.To start with, find below is the Loan terms repayment for the loan amount requested $4,500.00 for 3 Years.
… etc.
Is this a mere coincidence that somebody else would choose Eric’s Credit Community as the name for their spammy phishing front? Or have I joined the great ranks of eBay, PayPal & Bank of America as the subject of someones financial fraud ring? I’ll hold on to my delusions of grandeur and assume the latter.
For the record, of course I had absolutely nothing to do with sending these e-mails. I only learned of this recently when several people contacted me on the site about it. I am not offering loans to anyone, especially at 4.5%. I also am not paying you $1 for adding your name to the bottom of that e-mail and forwarding it to every person you know. Nor am I a nigerian prince who needs your help to get millions of dollars out of the country.
If you have received a copy of that e-mail though, please let me know via the contact form on the site. Honestly, I find myself somewhat annoyed and yet mildly entertained by this. I’d also love to hear from other webmasters out there – I expect to see these kinds of e-mails using well known company names, but is this a common thing even for smaller websites like this one?

2 responses so far ↓
1 Tom // Feb 4, 2009 at 1:25 pm
Funny and sad at the same time. Congratulations – sort of.
2 Wise Finish // Feb 13, 2009 at 12:29 pm
Congratulations on making it to the ranks of SPAM material! What’s next, a Hollywood motion picture?
Leave a Comment